RSS

The Weekly YA Roundup

23 Sep

I love my Kindle. It’s like having a bookstore in my hand. I know that nothing compares to the feel of a book in your hand and all those titles and colorful covers staring at you, but living in Spain I don’t have that option. If I want to browse English-language books, I have to do it online.

Each week I go to Amazon and pull up the new releases for YA fantasy in Kindle format and download samples of everything that’s come out in the past week. I then read them all (to a greater or lesser degree) then decide which (if any) I would actually want to buy. I have a one book a week limit budget-wise, so I’m pretty picky about what I’ll spend my money on.

This week I downloaded:

  • Wildwing by Emily Whitman: Nicely written, but I’ve read this story too many times already – poor smart girl who’s tormented by the rich and popular gets sent to work somewhere that she think will be horrible only to get caught up in some otherworldly adventure. If I were just starting out in fantasy I’d likely read it, but not after having read so many like it. Next!
  • Nevermore by Lisa Desrochers: Privileged girl with a “sheet of blond hair” whines about having to a) do homework and b) work with someone she either hates or loves. I don’t know which because I told her to stop kvetching and get a life. I know that self-absorbed teenaged girls are all the rage in YA, but I just can’t get into them. Next!
  • Personal Demons by Kelly Creagh: Opening line: “If there’s a Hell on Earth, it’s high school.” It might be catchy for someone else but my head hurts with being hit with the metaphor anvil. Next!
  • The Amaranth Experiment by Julie Berry: Cinderella opening and after a prologue that’s there to tell us what the main character has lost we’re thrown right into the middle of a lonely girl being mistreated by her aunt. Unfortunately nothing in the prologue or the intro makes me care. The situation itself isn’t enough. Next!
  • The Captive Flame: Brotherhood of the Griffon Book I by Richard Lee Byers: Tough girl meets dragon. Can’t put my finger on why I passed so quickly with this one but I think it’s because the writing feels overblown. Intuition says no, so… Next!
  • Wired by Robin Wasserman: The second sample I read all the way through (the other being Wildwing). Interesting concept – dead girl gets placed in robot body then agrees to let her body be used for creepy reality TV shenanigans – and I would be tempted to buy it but the main character’s apathy turned me off so no. Next!
  • Zombies vs. Unicorns by Holly Black and Justine Larbalestier: Since I’m a fan of neither zombies or unicorns… Next!

Oh wait, there are no more. Oh well, that means I go back to the third book in Michelle Sagara’s Chronicles of the Elantra series: Cast in Secret.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on September 23, 2010 in Book Reviews

 

6 responses to “The Weekly YA Roundup

  1. Eliza

    September 24, 2010 at 12:48 am

    Bwhahahahahaha …. but how can you not like unicorns? I mean really 🙂

    Loved your reviews, and if I actually had time to read just for fun as opposed to doing Silver & Grace book reviews I MIGHT consider a Kindle since it means I can do previews.

    MIGHT.

    I still love the tactile feel of holding a book.

     
    • Alex

      September 24, 2010 at 6:49 pm

      The only unicorn I like is the one in Through the Looking Glass because he’s not all virginal or magical – he spends his day fighting with a lion and disbelieves in little girls.

       
  2. Erin

    September 24, 2010 at 4:21 pm

    It’s been out for a while, so you may have seen it already, but I’m going to suggest you check out Jon Gibbs’s Fur-Face. The beginning of the product description on the Kindle store: “An evil scientist with a dastardly invention. A sadistic billionaire with a diabolical plan. What stands in their way? Two teenagers and one amazing cat. The bad guys don’t stand a chance!”

    Loved the reviews!

     
    • Alex

      September 24, 2010 at 6:50 pm

      That does sound good. I will definitely download a sample and check it out.

       
  3. Geg

    September 24, 2010 at 9:07 pm

    I like the “NEXT” bits too. I’m always saying that (or thinking it).

     
    • Alex

      September 24, 2010 at 10:43 pm

      I say it far too much. 😉

       

Leave a Reply

 
