RSS

An Extraordinarily Ordinary Life: My Life, Explained

30 Sep

The following blog post was retrieved from a server going out of service. Given the time that has elapsed since these posts were originally published, they are being reprinted here for your reading pleasure.

Originally Posted: Tuesday, September 30, 2003 at 7:22pm

Yesterday, Amanda asked me to tell her about my life, so here it is, in all its boring glory…

Last year when I finished high school, I had no idea what I wanted to do. I was 17 years old with no ambition. Dad wanted me to take time off, travel the world. Mom wanted me to go to business school. All I knew was that I wanted to live in Toronto. I’d grown up in the country and I’d had enough of it.

During Grade 11, this guy Brian and I dated for like 6 months. There was no tragic ending to the romance. We just faded apart, but we stayed friends, sort of. Since moving to Toronto, I haven’t actually talked to him. He went to Queen’s University in Kingston last year and didn’t go home for the summer. No big loss, I guess. But his parents now know my parents and when they found out I wanted to move to Toronto, they offered me a room in a condo they own. Brian’s brother, Dave, was living there while at school and wanted a roommate. So I moved in and got a job as a teller at a bank out in the ‘burbs. Mom liked the idea that although I wasn’t in school, I was working in Finance (yes with a capital “F”) so she bought me a car (a used car — we’re not that rich).

Dave’s the ultimate in cool. He’s the anti-Gail. He always has fun. He dresses in the latest fashions, knows the latest music, and only has sex with the hottest of the hotties. I can’t give you examples because I have no idea about any of this kind of stuff. I’ll just let you fill in the details.

Anyway, when I moved in, I had one request: no tricks in the apartment, which means Dave’s not home much. You see, he likes sex but doesn’t have a boyfriend (yes, he’s gay). I like sex too (who doesn’t?), but I don’t like it enough to bother with one-night stands.

I rarely go out with Dave. For one I’m still too young — only 18. I have to wait until November before I can legally drink. But even if I could, I wouldn’t go. I hate dance music. Plus, the smoke in bars gives me a splitting headache (I’m looking forward to a smoking ban everywhere).

So, that’s my boring life in a nutshell. And that’s why I have a fairy life-coach, I guess.

Comments (0)

 
6 Comments

Posted by on September 30, 2010 in An Extraordinarily Ordinary Life, Online Fiction

 

6 responses to “An Extraordinarily Ordinary Life: My Life, Explained

  1. Cat

    September 30, 2010 at 8:33 pm

    Neat blog, Gail / Alex ! I love the style and feel it’s going to be a page-turner!
    But ouch! Having an 18-year old girl mention “I like sex too (who doesn’t?)” in a book intended for 14 to 18 year-old teenagers makes me feel uncomfortable as a parent…

     
    • Alex

      September 30, 2010 at 8:55 pm

      @Cat – Thanks! Glad you like it. Re: the sex comment, did you never read Judy Blume at that age? Plus don’t 12 year-olds watch Gossip Girl or 90210? 😉

       
  2. Cat

    September 30, 2010 at 9:08 pm

    OK, you got me there, I don’t know all these authors or series! I am French and grew up reading Sci-fi and mysteries – no sex. And my soon-to-be 18 year-old daughter reads fantasy and vampire stories that only recently got hot. I have to guess French girls are not living up to their reputation and are way behind American girls 😉

     
  3. Alex

    September 30, 2010 at 9:10 pm

    @Cat – We North Americans are a strange mix of prudishness and raciness…

     
  4. sammi

    October 1, 2010 at 4:10 am

    awesome alex absolutely amazing, actually admitting life not where it should be and actioning it for something else! mr inspiration 2010!

     
  5. Alex

    October 1, 2010 at 6:26 am

    @sammi – thanks! It takes a lot of self-awareness to know when to stop and make a major change in direction – but since I had a clear idea of my destination it was an easy course change to make.

     

Leave a Reply

 
