RSS

The Weekly YA Roundup

01 Oct

Okay, so let’s review how this works. Each week I go to Amazon and pull up the new releases for YA fantasy in Kindle format and download samples of everything that’s come out in the past week. I then read them all (to a greater or lesser degree) then decide which (if any) I would actually want to buy. I have a one book a week limit budget-wise, so I’m pretty picky about what I’ll spend my money on.

That said, let’s take a look at what the week had to offer:

  • Keeper Martin’s Guide to the to the Fantastical Beasts and Faerie Peoples of the Ruin Mist by Robert Stanek: Other than having an impossibly long title, this book’s sample consisted of only the title pages and the copyright information. Not knowing what the book is about or how Stanek writes… (yup, you got it) Next!
  • Wizards of Skyhall Omnibus by J.R. King: The book starts off with an action than halfway through the first sentence plunges us into a summary of the main character’s life up to this moment. I don’t want summary – I want action. Next!
  • The Invisible Order, Book One: Rise of the Darklings by Paul Crilley: This one opens with one of those chapter titles that I love (mainly thanks to Patricia C. Wrede who used them so well in her Dragons series back in the 1980s) “Chapter One: In which Emily sees something she thought belonged in stories and runs afoul of the villainous Mr. Ravenhill.”  Already leaning towards liking the book I’m introduced to Emily, a penniless orphan who at twelve years old works as a maid to take care of her brother. Similar in theme to last week’s Wildwing I care a lot more about Emily than I did last week’s main character (whose name I don’t remember). This book goes into my reading cue. Yay! Let’s see if there’s anything else I feel like reading this week…
  • The Frenzy by Francesca Lia Block: I’ve never been a big fan of Block, but I’m always willing to be convinced otherwise. I wasn’t. Many people love her work but I just can’t get into her writing style. Next!
  • Brain Jack by Brian Falkner: The prologue has the main character telling me about how he’s entered into my computer and is rooting around files just by me buying the book. Continuity error – I didn’t buy the book and it’s on my Kindle, not my computer. Complete failure in the suspension of disbelief. Next!
  • Crave by Melinda Metz & Laura J. Burns: I was impressed with this one. The main character actually does have a life that sucks, unlike many other books in the genre – she has a rare blood order – and it’s done in a believable first person. As I read I guessed she some sort of natural born vampire and then that guess was confirmed by throwing me into some vision of her (or someone else) drinking blood. It’s done very well but I’m over vampires, even new takes on the vampire theme. Well done but no.

And that’s it for the week. I also did check out Erin’s suggestion from last week Fur-Face, but despite the fun blurb the actual writing did nothing for me. But I’m happy. I have a new book to read, although I won’t get to it right away. First I want to read the final draft of an Elizabethan fantasy by fellow author Anne Lyle. It hasn’t yet been published, but it will be as soon as she gets it in front of the right person because it’s awesome.

What are you reading right now?

 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 1, 2010 in Book Reviews

 

2 responses to “The Weekly YA Roundup

  1. LoriW

    October 1, 2010 at 8:22 pm

    I love the idea of your YA roundup! I’m a new fan to YA fiction – or at least new to embracing my love for YA. On a recent trip to NYC I borrowed my guy’s ebook reader to check out how I like the technology and decided to download The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins for my first ebook. LOVED. I’ve since downloaded the final two books, finishing off the whole series in a week. Good YA can be so great – I feel bad for snubbing it for so long. Thanks for sharing your YA roundup!
    While none of the following are new releases, the exerpts I’ve read will have me moving on to Someday This Pain Will Be Useful to You by Peter Cameron, The Book Thief by Markus Zusak, and How I Live Now by Meg Rosoff.
    p.s. I’ve asked Santa for a Kindle of my very own 😉

     
  2. Alex

    October 1, 2010 at 9:48 pm

    @LoriW I’ve been hearing wonderful things about The Hunger Games. I think I’ll need to hole up over Xmas with them. 😉 Thanks as well for the other suggestions – I’ll check them out.

    Hopefully Santa is good to you with the new Kindle 3 – I received my Kindle 2 one month before they announced the new one.

     

Leave a Reply

 
