RSS

An Extraordinarily Ordinary Life: A Boring Curse

03 Oct

The following blog post was retrieved from a server going out of service. Given the time that has elapsed since these posts were originally published, they are being reprinted here for your reading pleasure.

Originally Posted: Friday, October 3, 2003 at 8:07pm

Okay Amanda, here is the rest of my day. After you abandoned me again, I went home.

I thought about this idea of a boring curse. Is that a bad thing? No highs, no lows, like I’m on a natural Prozac. I wonder what I would be like if I wasn’t cursed to be boring. Would I be creative? An artist or maybe a teen movie star. Maybe I’d be a genius with finance just like my mother has always wished for. Who knows?

And when did I become cursed? The only exciting thing ever to happen in my life was when I was ten. I tried jumping over a line of Fisher-Price trucks on my bike and broke my arm, so maybe the curse happened after that. Maybe my Mom cursed me so that she wouldn’t have to worry about me. It’d be like her, a very practical thing to do, but at the same time, Mom’s way too business-like to ever get into curses. She’s all about making money. Curses are too (for lack of a better word) airy-fairy for her. They’re just not lucrative enough.

Not my Dad either. He’s a small-time farmer, doing the organic thing since the early seventies. He’s all about having adventures. Boring curses are not adventurous enough.

They’re a strange pair, my Mom and Dad. When I was younger, Mom lived in the city during the week while Dad took care of me in the country. Mom’s into powersuits and even on weekends she dresses pretty formally. Dad on the other hand will wear the same pair of overalls until they’re about ready to stand on their own.

But they seem happy. They’re still together at least. My Mom now lives full time with my Dad. She’s semi-retired, only doing consulting gigs. Her current project is to turn my Dad’s organic farm into something bigger. You know — the sort of place Whole Foods would buy from. My Dad enjoys resisting her.

Neither of them is boring, so how did I turn out that way? I think they’re both slightly disappointed in me, my Dad because I chose city life over the country, my Mom because I’m okay at what I do, but I’m not ambitious enough for her.

Comments (1)

Thanks for sharing about your parents. It helps create a more complete picture. And sorry for abandoning you. This curse has thrown me for a loop. But you still haven’t told me about the rest of your day on Wednesday. Kisses! Amanda.

 

Leave a Reply

 
