RSS

The YA Fantasy Roundup

04 Nov

Only a few releases again this week, but great news. I found a book that doesn’t just make me say maybe – I found one that I have to buy, right now, without checking the price first. It makes up for all the times I’ve had to say “Next!”.

Just to remind you… This is how it works:

  1. From Amazon I download samples of YA fantasy new releases
  2. I then read them all (to a greater or lesser degree)
  3. Finally, I decide which (if any) I would actually want to buy.

Let’s take a look at what the week had to offer:

  • The Cassi Code: A Galahad Book by Dom Testa: Another prologue book, this time giving me a summary of the setting and the tensions between people when the book opens. For me, this kind of information should be slid into the novel itself, not as a prologue. Next!
  • The Girl’s Guide to Vampires & The Girl’s Guide to Werewolves by Barb Karg: A tongue-in-cheek pair of books telling girls about origins, history and myths. Not what I’m looking for. I want a plot-driven story not a funny history lesson. Next!
  • The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness: Even if I hadn’t just read Patricia C. Wrede’s blog post on Dialect and writing unique voices the first person narration in this book would have gotten on my nerves. The author uses phonetic spellings (preparayshuns for preparations) and odd syntax (“The first thing you find out when yer dog learns to talk is that dogs don’t got nothing much to say.”) Plus the whole thing is in present tense which I don’t really enjoy reading. So, of course… Next!
  • Stork by Wendy Delsol: This book has everything going against it for me. It’s about a pretty girl transplanted from California to Minnesota and she’s a sarcastic attitude-filled whiner. However, the idea is so original and the voice so strong that I couldn’t resist. I whipped through the sample and immediately hit “Buy Now” plus I looked to see if the author had written anything else (nope) and looked her up on the web and Twitter. (No, I’m not a stalker, really!)

But first, I’ve promised my partner I’ll read more in Spanish, so I have to find something readable in Spanish. I’ll likely go to the library for that since there is so little available in Spanish on the Kindle.

What are you reading right now?

 
2 Comments

Posted by on November 4, 2010 in Book Reviews

 

2 responses to “The YA Fantasy Roundup

Leave a Reply

 
