RSS

Kindle Roundup: Reviewing the Recommendations

27 Jan

Yesterday I gave my paring down process for the recommendations that Kindle gave me based on my buying pattern. Today you get my impressions on the books for which I did decide to download samples.

A Posse of Princesses by Sherwood Smith: Sarcastic princesses who don’t fit the mould almost never fail with me, so this one automatically goes in the maybe folder.

Crown Duel by Sherwood Smith: This book is a perfect example of how even though one book by an author appeals to me a great deal, another one might not at all interest me. And unfortunately Smith did not capture my interest here (might it have been the explanatory prologue?). Next!

The Bards of Bone Plain by Patricia McKillip: McKillip wrote one of my all-time favorite books (one that I carry with me wherever I move and that I reread often): The Changeling Sea. Her other earlier works like the Riddle Master of Hed and The Forgotten Beasts of Eld are also amongst my favorites. But then she started to get more and more lyrical until she reached a point that for me went too far. Her writing is beautiful and it invokes mythic dream states, but all that lyricism gets in the way of the story, which is why I read. And The Bards of Bone Plain is no exception. Next!

Pegasus by Robin McKinley: This one opens with a history lesson. An interesting one yes, but a history lesson all the same. At the beginning of the book. It lost me right away. Next!

Masques & Wolfsbane by Patricia Briggs: Werewolves – as I expected. Not my cup of fantasy tea. Next!

Camille by Tess Oliver: More werewolves I think. Plus I find the sarcasm of the first person female protagonist too much. Next!

Safe Landing by Tess Oliver: An accident-prone first person female narrator with a trying mother (who gave her daughter a sucky name). I didn’t get far enough to decide if I could stomach my way through to finding out the plot. Next!

The Native Star by M.K.Hobson: Honestly I have no idea what it’s about given that it uses a prologue and I didn’t finish it, but the writing is wonderful and I was drawn into the story right away, even knowing that it would jump to something else as soon as chapter 1 started. Finally! Someone who knows how to use a prologue! Into the maybe folder.

Black Wings by Christina Henry: Dead Like Me but still living. Self-absorbed first person narrators work much better on the screen than on the page. Next!

The Mystery of Grace by Charles de Lint: It’s de Lint. ´Nuf said. BUY NOW!

Troubled Waters by Sharon Shinn: I found myself skimming although there was nothing wrong with plot, structure, style or anything else. Just not for me. Next!

Except we’re at the end of the list again. So 2 maybes and 1 buy now. In other words I have about the same interest in buying Amazon recommendations as I do in downloading new releases. I wonder if it will change once I’ve bought (a lot) more books.

I’ll be back next week with new releases.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 27, 2011 in Book Reviews

 

Leave a Reply

 
