RSS

Kindle Roundup: Checking Out an Indie Success

02 Feb

Back to downloading new samples for review (although one is not so new). If you’re newish here, this is what I do with these Kindle Roundups:

  • I go to the Science Fiction and Fantasy section of Amazon Teen
    (sometimes I add in mainstream SFF titles if something catches my eye)
  • I download samples for all the new titles since the last time I did it
    (well, everything except novels about vampires, werewolves, zombies and/or angels)
  • I read the samples and decide whether I’ll read them or not.

Switched by Amanda Hocking: Hocking is the current darling of the indie-author set. She’s managed to get several of her digital books into the top ten on Amazon. No mean feat. And no wonder. She follows the currently overly done trends of first person selfish teenage girl novels starting with a prologue, and yet I was drawn right in. Just goes to show that it doesn’t matter what you do as long as you do it well. Without a doubt this one (and hopefully its sequels) goes directly into the Buy Now! pile.

The Darkling Wind, The Tinkerer’s Daughter & Shadow Board by Jamie Sedgwick: Now, I’m all for indie-publishing (in fact I’m thinking of heading down that road myself), but if you’re going to do it, you should take a Marketing 101 course. And three books flooding the market all at once is not a good idea. Given that I read about one book a week (and most people read less than that), I get pretty selective on what I choose. If these three books are any good I might choose to buy them one at a time if they came out separately but when they come out all together I’m likely going to choose the best of the three and forget about the rest. That being said the first one The Darkling Wind is a first-person narrative but of a boy, which took me by surprise given how many female protagonists I’ve been reading recently. Nothing wrong with the book, but doesn’t grab me. The second one, The Tinkerer’s Daughter opens with someone talking about the day her or his father abandoning her or him (yes, more first-person narrative). I started skimming right away making it a no. I opened up the third one Shadow Board with not a whole lot of hope and although it breaks the pattern uses third-person, it didn’t do anything for me. Zero for three. Next!

Monster Republic: The Judas Code by Ben Horton: Surprise, surprise! A prologue and one that contains a very obvious villian. I’m not a fan of cliché villians. Next!

Across the Galaxy by Heather Hildenbrand: More teenage girls talking about boys and a strict guardian not letting one of them date. And then we get an italicized internal monologue with an information dump that the main character is actually an alien. Next!

Spirited by Nancy Holder: Second paragraph: “Isabella had been carefully brought up. She was the daughter of Surgeon Phillip Stevens, who was….” Yawn. Next!

Lizard Music by Daniel Pinkwater: Another male protagonist. Nice to see that more and more are showing up these days. A teenage boy gets left at home for a few weeks and has some adventures. Well written and a good voice but it didn’t capture me so it gets a hesitating Next!

Except we’re at the end of the list for the week. Once I finish the Charles de Lint from last week, I’ll dive into the Hocking and see if it lives up to all the hype. I’ll let you know in a review towards the end of the month.

See you next week!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on February 2, 2011 in Book Reviews

 

One response to “Kindle Roundup: Checking Out an Indie Success

Leave a Reply

 
