RSS

Kindle Roundup: Related Purchase Review

16 Feb

Again, with so few new releases in the Amazon Teen Fantasy Kindle section, I went back to the books I had already bought and in Amazon looked for what others had purchased. In each case I tried to find an author I had never heard of before, or in the case of authors I love books I didn’t know about.

This week, I was way impressed. Every single book I looked at went into the Buy Now or Maybe pile. It was like Christmas and my birthday all at once!

The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie by Alan Bradley: There’s something about strange adult-like children who are creepy and cold that makes for great comedy. While these characters are completely unreal and if they were I’d hate to be around them, they do make for great reading. Flavia de Luce has the potential to become one of my favorite fictional people. Obviously this one went into the Buy Now! pile.

InterWorld by Neil Gaiman and Michael Reaves: How could you not love someone who gets lost in his own house? Add in quantum multiverses and you’ve got me hooked. Another definite Buy Now! book.

The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms by N.K. Jemisin: Traditional fantasy with a practical girl forced into having ambitions she doesn’t want. Seems to also have a touch of steampunk to it. Politics, intrigue, magic and gadgets. The formal language also hooked me, reminding me of Kate Elliott’s Cold Magic. Let’s hope it’s anywhere as good. Buy Now!

Mixed Magics by Diana Wynne Jones: Three Chrestomanci stories that I’ve never read in one book. A no-brainer. Buy Now!

The Goose Girl by Shannon Hale: I love fairy tale retellings and no one has ever done the Goose Girl before so yeah, I’ll give it a try. Plus I loved the cover art. A strong Maybe.

Daughter of the Forest by Juliet Marillier: We’re moving down the insterest level here. This is another retelling, this time of the Six Swans but in a Celtic setting. Having done Celtic Studies in university it’s hard sometimes to read books in an Old Irish setting because it doesn’t ring true, but I’m willing to give this one a try. Maybe.

Hush Money by Susan Bischoff: The weakest of the books this week. It’s an urban fantasy along the lines of X-Men. People with superpowers being taken away and things happening to them. It could be good, it could be horrible. But the opening wasn’t bad, so it goes into the Maybe pile for a day when I’m out of other books to read.

And finally, The Ferryman by Charles de Lint and Christopher Golden: I’ve never been as much of a fan of de Lint’s dark fantasy/horror as the rest of his stuff, but it’s an interesting combination of authors so it gets a strong Maybe.

I’ve already downloaded and started Bradley’s novel and am loving it as much as I expected to. I also have waiting for me on March 8th the new Thursday Next novel by Jasper Fforde. Sooo excited!!!

See you next week!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 16, 2011 in Book Reviews

 

2 responses to “Kindle Roundup: Related Purchase Review

  1. Elaine

    March 2, 2011 at 11:31 pm

    Late to this posting too – but I read Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie last year and really enjoyed it. I like Flavia. And Bradley’s second book, The Weed that Strings the Hangman’s Bag was my first official Kindle purchase. I enjoyed that one too, although I think the first one may have been a bit more fun. Will be purchasing the 3rd book just out in the next bit too.

     
    • Alex

      April 1, 2011 at 8:00 am

      @Elaine – thanks for letting me know. I’ve put off getting the second one as there are so many other books I want to read, but it’s in my download list.

       

Leave a Reply

 
