RSS

Blog Challenge: A to Z Month at AlexWorld

02 Apr

When I used to run my other blog, Someday Syndrome, I blogged most every day between five hundred and two-thousand words each time and thought nothing of it. It was, I had accepted, a part of building up a blog following.

As you can imagine, I wasn’t writing much fiction.

Then I gave up the blog and focused on earning a living with a job-job (teaching English) and more importantly, devoting a good chunk of my day to fiction writing. After a while I opened up AlexWorld and blogged sporadically – at most three times a week (with one fiction-post, meaning I had to do only two non-fiction posts).

But in March I stopped altogether, focusing completely on my fiction and ignoring AlexWorld with glee. I’ve never been a big fan of obligation and blogging for me had become a “must” rather than a “want” – so even though I like sharing my thoughts on books as well as creating the Friday Flash stories, I resented the time my blogging was taking from my writing life. I also used Dean Wesley Smith to justify the break. He regularly says that the best marketing a writer can do is produce another book – so I turned away from the blog to focus on my stories.

But writing isn’t all of it. It’s also about connecting and reaching out. Amanda Hocking counts herself as much a marketer as writer. The other big indie-author John Locke considers himself a marketer who decided he would turn a writing hobby into something that he could market the crap out of.

So, here I am again, back blogging, and to kick off a more intense blogging schedule I’ve decided to participate in A to Z month started up by Lee at Tossing It Out in April 2010 with around 100 bloggers. It’s now up to more than 700 this year and growing by the moment. It exists as a way to encourage bloggers to blog with more regularity and to increase exposure among the Challenge participants.

Of course, being a former Professional Organizer, I can’t just give you a month of random blogging. I had to create well-ordered categories that follow daily themes…

  • Mondays: Book Review
  • Tuesdays: Inside AlexWorld – Novel Teasers
  • Wednesdays: Kindle Sample Reviews
  • Thursdays: My Indie-Publishing Experience
  • Fridays: Friday Flash
  • Saturdays: The State of Writing in AlexWorld

I hope you enjoy the month of super-blogging!

 
8 Comments

Posted by on April 2, 2011 in AtoZ Challenge, General Babblery

 

8 responses to “Blog Challenge: A to Z Month at AlexWorld

  1. Barbara

    April 2, 2011 at 4:19 pm

    Wow, first of all I love you blog design – I’ve seen a lot while blog-trotting, and I really like yours.
    Nice to meet you, I followed your link from twitter 🙂
    I’d love to read more about you, so see you around 🙂

     
    • Alex

      April 3, 2011 at 7:25 am

      @Barbara: Thanks! I love the design as well. It was something that jumped out at me and it’s completely different from the blog designs I’d chosen in the past (bright and riotous instead of calm and cool).

      @Lisa: Some of my friends don’t get how I can be creative when being so organized. I tell them that I have to be organized or I’m too chaotic to get anything done.

      @Rae: Good for you for mixing things up! So you’re doing a double challenge then. AtoZ and random topics. Good luck!

      @Erin: I already have the titles for every piece from now to the end of the month. It was the first thing I did when I decided to do the challenge.

      @Christina: Sometimes I’d like to be more random as well, but it makes me anxious (that’s the thing my brain is missing). 😉

       
  2. Lisa

    April 2, 2011 at 5:39 pm

    Alex, I look forward to folloing your progress during A-Z. I too am an Organizer and clearly get the reason for having a plan. Good- luck and see you on Monday for letter C.

    Lisa
    InspiredbyLisa

     
  3. Rae

    April 2, 2011 at 6:42 pm

    I’m also an organizer, but I decided not to do categories for the challenge. I already do categories during regular months and I wanted to do something different. Here’s to a month of intense blogging!

     
  4. Erin

    April 2, 2011 at 7:12 pm

    Heh. Clear difference between us — I can’t even imagine trying to plan out every day like that! I do know what I’m going to do for D, though. 😉

     
  5. Christina Majaski

    April 2, 2011 at 9:37 pm

    I am insanely jealous of Master Planners and Professional Organizers. I am unfortunately missing whatever part of the brain that involves.

    Good luck with the challenge and see you on C.

     
  6. damyanti

    April 3, 2011 at 9:42 am

    Just stopped by here from twitter to say hi…can’t ifnd the link to your Fiction blog…

     
  7. Alex

    April 3, 2011 at 9:53 am

    @Damyanti: It’s mixed in with the general bloggery. Here’s the link to the category: http://www.alex-f-fayle.com/?category_name=online-fiction

     

Leave a Reply

 
