RSS

How I Write

09 Apr

Despite what many of the million and one books on writing say, there is no ONE way to write. What works for one writer doesn’t work for another. Just as every writer is unique, so is his or her way of writing. That doesn’t mean you can’t learn from what other people say. It only means that you can’t take it as the gospel truth.

I’ve been writing since I was about twelve years old. I’ve taken years off at a time. I’ve spent many years finishing nothing. I’ve had great encouragement. I’ve had people telling me what they want to read and it’s not what I write. I’ve written every day. I’ve written poetry, fiction, scripts and all kinds of non-fiction.

In other words, in my nearly thirty years of writing, I’ve learned a lot, but what I’ve most learned is that I can’t tell others how to write. I can only say what works for me.

From now on Saturdays will be dedicated to my writing process from handling new ideas, to outlines to the first draft to editing and publication. Of course I’m still learning (and will continue to do so until I’m dead).

Why am I doing this? Because maybe some of the things I do will help you discover the way you write, if you’re a writer. And if you’re a reader, then hopefully this series will give you a bit of insight into the life of a working writer (as opposed to the writer we get in movies and TV).

P.S. You’ll notice that this post is significantly shorter than my recent posts. Why? Because of Kristine Kathryn Rusch’s wonderful hard-data-filled post on writer promotion. Writers get readers by writing more books, not by being a social media expert. So instead of writing long posts, I’m off writing more fiction for you to enjoy.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on April 9, 2011 in AtoZ Challenge, General Babblery

 

6 responses to “How I Write

  1. Laura Marcella

    April 9, 2011 at 2:46 pm

    Sounds like this will be a terrific and useful feature! I’m fascinated by other writers’ processes. We all approach our writing differently, yet get similar results. Like you said, there’s no right way to do it as long as you get the writing done!

     
  2. Damyanti

    April 9, 2011 at 2:48 pm

    You’re so right. No two writing processes are the same. But I have learnt a little from each writer who has talked about his/her writing process, because some of the tips work for me, too. I look forward to learning from you 🙂

     
  3. Patricia Beaudin

    April 9, 2011 at 6:03 pm

    Sounds like a great idea and will have to check back to see what works for you and if any of it may help me. Good advice too. It really irks me when people try to insist that they know the correct way to write. For you, yeah. Me? Not so much.

     
  4. Nicole/MadlabPost

    April 10, 2011 at 5:15 am

    I tried to develop a writing process but didn’t stick with it because it wiped me out and made me regret putting pen to paper or fingers to keyboard, so I now try to write when I’m either inspired by something, very excited about an idea or project or when I am forcing myself to meet deadlines.

     
  5. Ella

    April 10, 2011 at 7:43 pm

    I so agree. I took a class; it ended up cancelled. The author struggled teaching us, because in reality, one can’t! It only lasted 2 weeks. I look forward to your posts~ Thanks for visiting me and sharing!

     
  6. andrea

    April 11, 2011 at 1:26 pm

    I agree with you, every writer and every writing style is different. (Thank god for that!) (OK, my mind just seem to bounce back to individuality which I’ve just written about… Weird.) But it’s really interesting to see how other writers work, what helps them, what hinders them. So I’m looking forward to this series!
    – andrea

     

Leave a Reply

 
