RSS

InterWorld: Fun Teenage Action Adventure

11 Apr

Neil Gaiman is one of my never-fail artists. I’ve enjoyed everything I’ve ever read, from his Sandman comics in the late 80s to his novels, movies and short stories. No wait. I lie. I couldn’t get through the Neverwhere miniseries, but everyone’s allowed one fail.

One of the many things he does well is collaborations. His Good Omens with Terry Pratchett is divine (pun intended). With InterWorld he works with Michael Reaves and together they created a book that lives up to expectations. As I said in the minireview of the sample, what’s not to love about a book that starts with a boy who gets lost in his own house? It’s a multiverse story which is another love of mine. It has creepy evil magicians, big mistakes and making up for them, and a really powerful hero not knowing just how powerful he is.

My favorite books tend to have female leads and offer a lot of internalizing and rationalizing of actions and reactions. InterWorld, however, doesn’t go into all that introspective stuff. The main character, Joey, is a typical teenage boy that way. He acts and reacts without thinking about it much. In other words, Gaiman and Reaves do what all great science fiction and fantasy does – they put a real boy in an unreal situation and readers get a fun escape from our mundane world for a few hours.

Get your copy of InterWorld for Kindle.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on April 11, 2011 in AtoZ Challenge, Book Reviews

 

5 responses to “InterWorld: Fun Teenage Action Adventure

  1. Sylvia

    April 11, 2011 at 5:20 pm

    Very good blog. I found you through the A to Z challenge and I look forward to reading more from you.

     
  2. Erin M. Hartshorn

    April 12, 2011 at 12:17 am

    I actually really enjoyed Neverwhere, though I read it as one huge book. My husband is the one who introduced me to Good Omens.

    I have now added the sample of InterWorld to my Kindle app (that’s how I keep track of what I want to buy). Thanks for the excellent review!

     
  3. Alex

    April 12, 2011 at 5:58 am

    @Sylvia: Thanks. I look forward to seeing you in the comments.

    @Erin: I loved the book – it was the miniseries that was horrible (the production values were nil and the acting wooden). I do the same with recommendations.

     
  4. Misha

    April 12, 2011 at 12:55 pm

    This sounds like a great read. It should be interesting to see how they deal with the world they created, since I have to spend so much time dealing mine.

    🙂

     
  5. Alex

    April 13, 2011 at 10:34 pm

    @Misha: Not only is it a great read, it’s a quick one too, leaving you plenty of time for the (not quite so fun) real world. 😉

     

Leave a Reply

 
