RSS

Learning-Curve Blues: Being a Professional

14 Apr

When I first considered indie-publishing, I decided that I wouldn’t create a publishing company. Who needs one? I asked. I’ll do it as myself and that’s that. However, as I mentioned in my last Kindle Roundup post, far too few indie-published books reach the level of professionalism that traditionally published books do. Even before immersing myself in the indie world I knew my books would not be like that.

I needed to be a professional and that meant publishing from a professional company. For that reason, Aia Publishing was born (aia is beech tree in Basque and in a post later this month I’ll explain its significance).

As a publisher, therefore, I now have the responsibility of doing right by my authors (well, author – me). That means hiring out the tasks that don’t interest me (typos bore me, proper comma use puts me into a coma, and my creativity is in no way, shape, or form, visual). For my first endeavors I have a proofreader and a cover artist. I’m doing the formatting, the ISBN stuff, the uploading and promotion on my own, however, as that stuff does interest me. As book sales allow me more budget, future books will be professionally edited before going to the proofreader.

In other words, readers will get a quality product because that’s what will pull them through the book to the end and make them check back for what else I’ve written.

It’s not easy and it requires a dedication to being a businessperson instead of an “artist” but in the long run, I want to earn money from my writing, so I will learn what I need to and work as hard as I have to. And that will bring me success as an artist and a businessperson.

What about you? How do you define art and business in the new publishing world?

 
4 Comments

Posted by on April 14, 2011 in AtoZ Challenge, Indie Publishing

 

4 responses to “Learning-Curve Blues: Being a Professional

  1. Jeffrey Beesler

    April 14, 2011 at 4:37 pm

    The fact that you want your work to be presented professionally speaks volumes of your commitment to the art. And it can be argued that business is an art form of its own.

    It’s a pleasure to meet you from the A-Z Challenge!

     
  2. Patricia Royal

    April 14, 2011 at 7:17 pm

    Kudos to you. I think a lot of people that go indie don’t quite realize doing it yourself means doing everything. Even if it means hiring an editor.

     
  3. Alex

    April 14, 2011 at 9:39 pm

    @Jeffrey: It’s true! Doing business well is a real art. Thanks for the vote of confidence!

    @Patricia: And thanks to you as well. Thanks to people like Dean Wesley Smith, I’ve learned that writing is two businesses – the writer and the publisher and both need to be professional. Fortunately I’m able to remove the ego from the writer part and look at my fiction from the point of view of the publisher.

     
  4. Arlee Bird

    April 14, 2011 at 10:42 pm

    I think that many authors, artists, and other creative types are often afraid and even repulsed by the business end of thing which is why the agents and publishers are so important. I don’t understand when a person who has created something is unwilling or hesitant about promoting what they’ve done. Marketing is the most effective way of getting product into peoples hands.

    You make interesting points.

    Lee
    Tossing It Out

     

Leave a Reply

 
