RSS

Ready, Set, Go! The Upcoming Launch of An Extraordinarily Ordinary Life

21 Apr

When I first decided to go into indie-publishing, I published a short story as a test. In that experiment, I learned that I don’t have the visual artistic skills to create a cover, plus I confirmed that proofing is NOT one of my strengths. So, when I decided to launch my first novel, An Extraordinarily Ordinary Life, the first two things I did was hire a cover artist and sent the book out to a professional for proofing.

I now have the proofs back and I received the cover in my inbox today.

That means that by this time next week my first novel will be epublished. It might take a while for it to propagate around the web, but it’ll be up and all the seedlings I’ve planted over the past several decades will begin to bear fruit.

Do I expect instant success? A thousand sales a month? No, not at all. I ran a small business from 2003 to 2009. I know what it’s like to start small and build. The important part is the starting. Without publishing something first, none of the rest can come.

You might recognize the title of the book from the blog here. Yes, it’s the same thing, making the transformation from blog-novel to ebook. And that means that when I do publish the book, the blog version (except for a few teaser posts) is coming down. After all, a smart businessperson doesn’t compete with himself.

I’ll announce the launch here on the blog as well as on Twitter and Facebook, and I’ll stick the cover up in the next few days as a preview.

 

3 responses to “Ready, Set, Go! The Upcoming Launch of An Extraordinarily Ordinary Life

  1. Patricia Royal

    April 21, 2011 at 6:30 pm

    I’ve been noticing a lot of people testing the waters of indie publishing. Makes sense, especially after what you said about finding out what parts you don’t excel at.

    Good luck and congrats on your book.

     
    • Alex

      April 29, 2011 at 9:01 am

      @Patricia: Thanks! It’s getting closer every day. At some point if traditional publishing comes knocking I won’t say no, but it in meantime the indie world is a good way to build up readers and earn money off of it.

      @Sarah: Thanks as well! It is very exciting.

       
  2. Sarah Allen

    April 21, 2011 at 9:55 pm

    Good luck! Looks exciting 🙂

    Sarah Allen
    (my creative writing blog)

     

Leave a Reply

 
