RSS

Telling Myself A Story

23 Apr

If you want to sell books at some point, it’s important to think about your future readers. However, I never start from that point. Later once I’ve started writing I consider who exactly I want reading the story (and therefore do not get too racy in my young adult stories, nor talk too much about the lives of older people, for example), but I can’t get so structured so early.

When I come up with an idea, before I create outlines or put anything down into the computer, the seed of the idea germinates and sprouts in my mind as snippets of story. They flesh themselves out in cinematic images. Finally an ending appears and I’m ready to get started.

All of this takes time and free-thinking. Fortunately, I walk a lot. I usually walk 45 minutes to work. I run about one hour a week or go for long hikes on weekends. I also wake up early most mornings and while playing Bejeweled Blitz on Facebook, my subconscious is piecing together the story for me.

This process continues through the first draft and the editing process. Ideas come and go, they repeat over and over refining themselves until they come out just right and I can create a scene, a chapter or a whole book around them.

I pondered for a while the best way explain this process to you, but in the end, I can’t say any more. It’s a relaxed intuitive process. As a former professional organizer I love having processes and systems that work time and again, but in this my muse demands unstructured chaos. Before the writing happens, the muse dips again and again into the river of ideas and pulls out things to take a look at and decide if we want them or whether they get tossed back in to the water for another time, perhaps once the idea has had a chance to grow a little bigger.

I know another writer who writes the story’s synopsis before beginning. She feels that if she can encapsulate the whole story in a few pages, then she understands it enough to turn it into a whole novel or complete short story. While I understand her way of working, I’ve tried it and it forces my muse to shut up and refuse to speak to me. How dare I try to control her like that?!

So, I go for a walk and let her dip and dive soaking herself in story, free to pick and choose what she thinks is best, without any structure to hold her back.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on April 23, 2011 in AtoZ Challenge, General Babblery

 

5 responses to “Telling Myself A Story

  1. Patricia Royal

    April 23, 2011 at 6:43 pm

    Great post. We all have different ways of coming up with the idea. I can’t plot to say my life, but scenes pop in my head out of order all the time.

     
    • Alex

      April 29, 2011 at 9:08 am

      @Patricia: I know people who take that out-of-order scene discovery and write the book that way, piecing the story together like a quilt. It’s not something I could do but the process fascinates me.

      @Danidel: Eight chapters? Wow! That’s impressive. In my next post about my writing process I’m going to talk about my outlining process, but it’s loose as well. And lots of fun.

       
  2. Daniel Ritter

    April 24, 2011 at 6:27 pm

    I love the magic of things happening organically; when you sit down and just dig in and see what happens, let the story write itself. My current WIP was started that way. I pounded out eight chapters strictly off the pants. Once I was that far in, I realized I couldn’t tell the story I wanted to tell without alot of preparation. So I had to stop, give it a ton of thinktime, then came back at it with a loose outline. I’m bouncing to and fro now, between the planning and the pantsing, and it’s going fairly well. The planning gets the complicated mechanics sorted, but I’m not married to the outline. Tons of fun, as it turns out.

     
  3. Sue

    April 26, 2011 at 12:37 pm

    Hi, I’ve just dropped in from A-Z. I like the way you’ve described your processes here. I’ll be interested to see how you finish the week off 🙂 Sue@JumpingAground (Alliteration & drabbles)
    Sue@traverselife(Workplace bullying)

     
    • Alex

      April 29, 2011 at 9:09 am

      @Sue: Thanks for stopping by. Glad you enjoyed the post!

       

Leave a Reply

 
