RSS

Cheap is Expensive

05 May

One of the things I learned as a small business person is that it often costs more (in money, time and energy) to go with the least expensive option. Yet for some reason I ignored this lesson when deciding on a cover designer for the upcoming publication of An Extraordinarily Ordinary Life.

From my small business years I already had a graphic designer whose work I adore (take a look at my former site Someday Syndrome to see how awesome her work is). However, since An Extraordinarily Ordinary Life is my first publication, I wanted to limit the money on spent on the cover and I went with someone I didn’t know but came recommended and who knows how to make a professional-looking cover.

Silly me.

The deadline came and went and the designer vanished off the edge of the Earth. I had planned to publish the book at the end of April and now it’s going to happen the end of May.

The good news is that I’m going to have a kick-ass cover from someone I trust and before the end of the month An Extraordinarily Ordinary Life will be up for sale, plus since I was planning on going with this designer later, now all my books will have the same look and feel to them.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on May 5, 2011 in Indie Publishing

 

3 responses to “Cheap is Expensive

  1. Deb Dorchak

    May 5, 2011 at 10:59 pm

    I think that’s one of the hardest lessons for many people to learn. I can’t begin to tell you how often we hear that story from clients over and over again.

    You will definitely have a kick ass cover and thanks so much for the kind words 🙂

     
  2. Patricia Royal

    May 6, 2011 at 6:53 pm

    Sorry to hear that. It can be tough when you start out. You only have so much money and you have to be so careful. When my story is ready I have a few cover artists bookmarked that I’ll have to look into and decide how much I’m willing to spend. Can’t wait to see your cover.

     
  3. Ava

    May 6, 2011 at 10:59 pm

    It’s not only one of the hardest lessons, it’s almost always one of the last ones learned. I do the same thing, but never seem to come to my senses. Don’t you wish there was a checklist you could go through of reasons why it’s better to go expensive and well-done in the first place? It would save me a lot of time, that I know for sure.
    Ava

     

Leave a Reply

 
