RSS

Debut Novel Launch: An Extraordinarily Ordinary Life

26 May

I’ve spent the last week SQUEEEEEEing to myself. Why? Because my first novel An Extraordinarily Ordinary Life has been published on Amazon and Smashwords (which means it’ll soon be available in all popular ebook stores). What’s it about? Here’s the back of the book blurb:

Usually Fairy Godmothers help out lost princesses, girls forced into family slavery, and wooden puppets wanting to be real boys. Gail McCain, however, is none of these things. She’s just a normal 18-year-old girl who likes to get up, go to work, eat sensibly and go to bed early. Okay, so maybe she’s not that normal. Enter Amanda, a fairy life-coach (godmothers are so last millennium) who informs her new client that she’s cursed to be boring–and it’s the fairy’s job to get Gail a life. Skeptical at first, Gail quickly adapts when she gets some new friends and even a boyfriend. But Amanda’s not done with her yet, insisting that the curse needs something powerful to break it. She makes Gail a famous celebrity blogger, tossing scandals, love triangles and bitchy starlets in her path. But can a teenager whose idea of excitement is her egg-one-a-week Sunday breakfast survive all this excitement?

You saw the cover last week, but it’s so awesome, I just have to post it again:

An Extraordinarily Ordinary Life

If you decide to check it out, I hope you enjoy it and I’d love to hear what you think! Connect with me over on GoodReads and we can talk about all sorts of books!

 

17 responses to “Debut Novel Launch: An Extraordinarily Ordinary Life

  1. Damyanti

    May 27, 2011 at 8:32 am

    Congratulations!!!! wow! let me know as soon as it is available…hope I can download it from Singapore 🙂

     
  2. Alex

    May 27, 2011 at 8:44 am

    Thanks! You should be able to get it via the Smashwords site – here’s the link: http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/60232

    Hope you enjoy it!

     
  3. Patricia Royal

    May 27, 2011 at 7:01 pm

    Congrats! I can’t get over how awesome that cover is. Now added to my wishlist for future buying (I’ve grounded myself from buying books until I’ve read through the piles I have.)

     
  4. Alex

    May 28, 2011 at 7:32 am

    Thanks Patricia and I know what you mean. Especially now that I have a Kindle I have to limit myself to one book a week or I end up spending far too much money.

     
  5. Jeremy Day

    May 29, 2011 at 12:14 am

    Hi Alex,

    Congrats on the book release and new cover. That is awesome. I was just visiting some of my old blogger friends and saw that you haven’t blogged on your old site for awhile. Glad to see you found your someday!!!

    Cheers,
    Jeremy

     
    • Alex

      May 29, 2011 at 7:45 pm

      Thanks Jeremy! Good to see you. I hope you’re doing well too.

       
  6. Marie

    June 24, 2011 at 4:29 am

    Congratulations!! That’s so exciting – my heart’s actually racing reading this because I hope in a month or two, this will be me! I’m in the final stages of getting my book ready for publication, so I’m going to have to read more of your blog and hope you give lots of info!

     
    • Alex

      June 25, 2011 at 7:52 am

      Thanks Marie! And good luck when it comes to your own book. It is an incredible feeling.

      Michael: Thanks for stopping by!

       
  7. Michael E. Walston

    June 24, 2011 at 9:47 pm

    Sounds interesting!

    A fairy life-coach. What a neat concept…

    Good luck.

     
  8. Victoria

    July 3, 2011 at 8:35 am

    When Amanda is finished with Gail’s life, do you think she’ll stop in to fix my disorganized excuse for an existance? LOL

    Looks like a great book! I’ve put it on the short list. 😀

    Congrats!
    Victoria

     
    • Alex

      July 3, 2011 at 9:05 am

      Victoria, hope you enjoy the book and I’ll put a good word in for you with Amanda. She might just have an opening. 😉

       
  9. Lyn

    July 4, 2011 at 4:56 am

    Congrats! I’ve been reading DWS as well and enjoy your comments there. Best wishes on this ebook.

     
    • Alex

      July 4, 2011 at 7:19 am

      Thanks Lyn! DWS and KKR have been a collective godsend for me.

       
  10. Teresa

    July 19, 2011 at 11:27 am

    I am happy for you and you are an encouraging spirit. I am reading your http://somedaysyndrome.com/ blog and it is wonderful to see that you have followed your dream. I will be purchasing your book and the books to come.

    Best regards,
    Teresa

     
    • Alex

      July 19, 2011 at 2:21 pm

      Thanks so much, Teresa! Glad you enjoyed the other blog and I’m happy you found your way here. Hope you also enjoy the book.

       
  11. April

    October 3, 2011 at 6:00 pm

    I am so happy for you. I always enjoyed and looked forward to the posts including bits of An ‘Extraordinary Ordinary Life.’ Awesome:}

     
    • Alex

      October 5, 2011 at 8:59 am

      Thanks April! I had a lot of fun writing it. I have to admit that it’ll be a while until the next book, but until then I promise to start upping my posting schedule (including bits and pieces of Amanda). 😉

       

Leave a Reply

 
