RSS

A Year Full of Wonder… My 2012 Goals

27 Dec

I don’t do resolutions. I have goals. Resolutions are things that fall by the wayside a month into the year. Goals are measurable results that can be reached step by measurable step.

And thanks to a recent post by Dean Wesley Smith, my goals for 2012 are things completely under my control. I used to do goals full of numbers that were based on the actions of others. But how can I accomplish goals that I have no control over? I can’t.

So, here are my three measurable, step-by-step and under-my-control goals for 2012.

By the end of next year, I will…

Have a 4 novels* written and in a professional level production queue (editing, proofing, cover design, POD layout design);

Have 24 short stories written – 12 in circulation with magazine editors and 12 indie-published; and

Have built a newsletter following through consistent and directed marketing on Twitter, Facebook, GoodReads, my blog and the blogs of Fantasy and YA book reviewers.

How about you? what do you want to have accomplished by the end of 2012?

(* Two are already written and the first draft of a third is mostly done.)

 
6 Comments

Posted by on December 27, 2011 in General Babblery

 

6 responses to “A Year Full of Wonder… My 2012 Goals

  1. Anne Lyle

    December 27, 2011 at 12:55 pm

    My goals for 2012 are determined by my current publishing contract – I have two novel manuscripts to hand in (one nearly done, one yet to be written). Oh, and I want to overhaul my website and continue blogging regularly.

    Everything else is in the hands of the gods 🙂

     
    • Alex

      December 28, 2011 at 1:47 am

      Anne: It must feel kind of cool to have your goals decided for you by someone else. I imagine it’s a bit of a relief (and a lot of stress) to have deadlines set for you.

       
  2. Brett

    December 27, 2011 at 4:00 pm

    My goals aren’t year long, but I do have some planned.

    Get 3 more short stories into circulation.
    Complete the writing on one of my 9 presently started novels.
    Increase posts on my Blog to once a week.

    Then there is the nebulous one:
    Find fun in my life again.

    Oh and become a paid published author!

     
  3. Erin M. Hartshorn

    December 27, 2011 at 4:36 pm

    Those are some solid goals. I have to say, that last one would terrify me. 🙂

     
  4. Alex

    December 28, 2011 at 1:51 am

    Brett: Those are great goals! Definitely measurable and totally doable. Good luck!

    Erin: The last one does terrify me, but it’s my third time doing it, so I’ve learned to work past the fear. BTW, I will likely be doing a FM Writers class on newsletter list building, so you might learn to get past the fear with it.

     
  5. Erin M. Hartshorn

    December 28, 2011 at 6:17 pm

    I saw that you were putting that class together, and I’m of two minds about it. Part of me says if I’m so afraid of it, it must be something I really need to do. And part of me says, meh. That’s not who I am, and I’m happy to see how just writing the next book works as a marketing plan. Which means I’ll probably do the class, but may not act on it, at least just yet.

     

Leave a Reply

 
