RSS

Making Friends with an Elephant

26 Jun

It never ceases to amaze me how we are our own worst enemies. Last week, I stated tat description isn’t my thing, and yet by breaking down the current chapter into pieces (the old how to eat an elephant trick), I whipped through a thousand words no problem.

I really need to stop limiting myself with negative thoughts. When I was a less experienced writer description wasn’t my strong point, but that was years ago. I’ve grown and improved since then. I will never be a deep description type (like the current book I am reading that goes into great detail about the smallest actions), but when I use description to serve the plot and characterization, I do it well.

In other words, I need to get out of my own way.

How are you limiting yourself?

Today’s Lunch: (in reality yesterday’s lunch) a pintxo of tortilla de patata (a slice of deep dish potato omelette).

 
1 Comment

Posted by on June 26, 2012 in General Babblery

 

One response to “Making Friends with an Elephant

  1. Erin

    June 26, 2012 at 8:51 pm

    I tell people all the time that I’m bad at description, often when they’ve told me that I’m good at it. Given my druthers, a lot of my books would be completely filled with talking heads in a vacuum. Because I know this, though, I often make an effort to put the description in while I’m writing just so I don’t have to go back and add it later!

    Congrats on your insight!

     

Leave a Reply

 
