RSS

What I Did Today

26 Jun

The important word in the title is today. You see, I have always had a problem with that word. I like tomorrow, next week, next year, but not today. Over the past six years I have been trying to learn how to live in the moment. I’ve tried any number of tricks, made innumerable plans, and listened to the advice of almost every expert on the web, so much so that I even converted into one of thosevexperts for a while.

And yet, I still focused on the future too much.

Let’s take my writing as an example. I’d take a novel, cut it into bits then plan how much I’d need to write to accomplish completely arbitrary goals. And then I’d not accomplish them, get depressed because tomorrow wouldn’t arrive the way I’d planned it.

In my latest break from writing, I finally got it. The only way to live in th moment is to live in the moment. Tomorrow doesn’t matter, next week, next month or next year don’t matter.

Only today matters. As long as I do something today, the future will take care of itself.

So on that note, here’s what I did today: added just over 800 words (that told me a lot more than I ever knew about the protagonist) to chapter three of the novel.

Today’s Lunch: Leftover pad thai that I made last night as a few-days-late anniversary dinner.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 26, 2012 in Book Reviews

 

2 responses to “What I Did Today

  1. Erin

    June 26, 2012 at 8:51 pm

    I like this. Only today matters. Sounds like a much less stressful way to live!

     
  2. meri torres

    June 30, 2012 at 10:23 am

    I really liked this post. I often find myself having a hard time living in the moment. I like what you had for today’s lunch. lol

     

Leave a Reply

 
