RSS

My Earliest Influences

01 Jul

Ever since I read Alice in Wonderland and Alice Through the Looking-Glass, I wanted to create something as lasting, and that would have the same sort of impact on someone’s life the way these two books had on me.

Later, once I started writing as a teen and thinking about writing as a career, I chose a modern writer as my inspiration: Charles de Lint. With his first book published at 32, his mix of short stories and novels, and his ability to entertain and take me to another place de Lint was a realistic model of a professional writer.

That I am 42, going on 43, and am only starting my publshing career doesn’t matter. I still look to working writers like de Lint as an inspiration and a great role model.

* * *
Now go check out the Merry-Go-Round blog tour to read what other authors/members of Forward Motion Writers have to say about their early influences, starting with Erin M. Hartshorn tomorrow.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 1, 2012 in General Babblery

 

Leave a Reply

 
