RSS

It’s All About the Writing

16 Jul

Routines and I are not the best of friends. I’m not as bad as my mother who actually gets dizzy if she does the same thing at the same time for more than a few days, but I’m not so good on following up on things. For example, I told myself that I’d do an update on the blog every day that I wrote, and yet on Friday I added another 700 words to chapter 3 and then said nothing about it here.

But know what? It doesn’t matter. This blog is just one of the tools to help keep me writing regulary. The goal itself is to write. Did I write? Yes. Nothing else matters.

Today I wrote too, 800 words of almost pure description that explored the main character’s newly discovered magic (which she is going to have to suppress from now on if she wants to keep her family safe and sound). For someone who supposedly hates description, 800 words of it all at once without making me fall asleep is a pretty good achievement, I’d have to say.

Yay me!

Today’s Lunch: A duck confit and spinach salad with homemade passion-fruit caesar salad dressing. Mmmmm…

 
2 Comments

Posted by on July 16, 2012 in General Babblery

 

2 responses to “It’s All About the Writing

  1. Erin

    July 17, 2012 at 6:22 pm

    Congrats on the words. I can do ruts — like checking my e-mail first thing when I pop onto the computer — but somehow, starting a good habit as a routine is work. 😛 I like your attitude about the blog just being a tool.

     
    • Alex

      July 17, 2012 at 9:15 pm

      Ruts like that I can do as well. And yes, forming good habits feels like so much work.

       

Leave a Reply

 
