RSS

A Slip into the Future

17 Jul

More words than usual today – over 900 when I’ve been averaging 700 – which made me happy. Also I finished chapter 4 – another reason to be happy. But then I made the mistake of adding up how many words I have written in these opening chapters, then added in the average of the four chapters for the remaining chapters – and got depressed. From this calculation, I’ll be about 15,000 words short of my goal for the novel.

But then I remembered that I agreed not to look into the future with this novel and felt a lot better. If I’m short I’ll deal with it later – or maybe celebrate the compactness. Who knows? That’s the future and it has nothing to do with the moment.

Today’s Lunch: Spanish melon with cured ham followed by chicken breasts with havarti and spearmint (the best part of which was that it was all waiting for me on the table when I got home from work).

 
2 Comments

Posted by on July 17, 2012 in General Babblery

 

2 responses to “A Slip into the Future

  1. Erin

    July 18, 2012 at 5:35 pm

    Hooray for concentrating on the present! So hard to do, but such a great mindset!

    And extra cheers for the wonderful lunch just waiting for you when you got home (and cheers for the husband who made it, too)!

     
    • Alex

      July 18, 2012 at 6:46 pm

      Yes, it’s very hard to do, but I am finding my life to flow so much better when I manage to achieve it, in every way – from work to relationships to writing. Curious that despite the obvious benefits, it’s still a difficult mindset to hold onto…

       

Leave a Reply

 
