RSS

A Big Leap Forward

18 Jul

I’ve created a new category for the blog called “Am Writing” so that the automated hashtag generation drops these writing journal updates into the Twitter-stream where others might see it. (One of the reasons why I consider blogging a tool to reach my writing goals, and not a form of writing in itself).

But that’s not what I wanted to talk about here. I only mention it because today I did very little actual writing. I did, however, add a whopping 4300 words to the novel’s word count and leapt forward a whole chapter. And no, I didn’t steal the words from someone else. I reached a point in the novel where this particular chapter from my exploratory draft (thanks Bonnie for the term – I love it!) fit well with the revised outline. It only needed a few tweaks and a bit more description added. In total, I wrote about 900 new words, but I don’t really care about the exact number. It’s the final word count that matters – the novel currently stands at 20,000.

Yay me!

Today’s Lunch: I ate at the local university today because I had errands to do over on the work side of town. Although I used to eat there all the time, today’s meal of squash soup and cod-filled peppers didn’t taste very good. They haven’t changed – I have. Now that I’m debt-free and not so penny-pinching, I don’t put up with lower quality just for the sake of saving a few euros. From now on, if I am stay over in that area for lunch in the future and haven’t taken anything with me, I’ll splurge the extra five euros and get a decent menu from one of the neighborhood restaurants.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on July 18, 2012 in Am Writing

 

2 responses to “A Big Leap Forward

  1. David Bridger

    July 18, 2012 at 7:50 pm

    Excellent progress! And they’re your words, whenever you wrote them! 🙂

     
    • Alex

      July 18, 2012 at 8:16 pm

      So true David. And every single one of them worth celebrating.

       

Leave a Reply

 
