RSS

Restarting the Engine (sort of…)

19 Sep

It’s been nearly two months since I have written anything. The first month without writing was intentional. I was on holiday and I don’t write when I’m on holiday. The second month wasn’t meant to be writing-free. I was back at work so I should have been back to writing.

But my husband had his gallbladder out. I was working long hours. My energy and creativity were pointed inother directions…

Blah, blah, blah.

The truth is I didn’t write because I didn’t feel like it.

And I still don’t feel like it, which is an odd thing. I tell everyone I’m a writer. I (usually) love the finished product when I do write and yet if I can come up with a half-believable excuse to avoid writing, I latch onto it and spend my free time playing Bubble Witch Saga, reading, or staring at the ceiling.

This morning I considered posting something in the online writers’ forum I belong to, asking for tricks to get myself writing again, but that would have been just another excuse. There is only one way to do it…

I have to write.

No tricks, no plans, no rewards sometime in the future.

I have to write today if I want to finish anything tomorrow.

And this is where my toddler/teenager self starts screaming “No!!!!!!!! I don’t have to do anything. You can’t tell me what to do!”

So, I am going to try an experiment. Instead of telling myself I have to write, I am going to say “I want to write.” or “I will write.” and see how that works.

(But first I’ll play a few rounds of Bubble Witch, just to ease myself into it.)

 
3 Comments

Posted by on September 19, 2012 in General Babblery

 

3 responses to “Restarting the Engine (sort of…)

  1. Erin

    September 19, 2012 at 3:13 pm

    Good luck with it!

     
  2. Patricia (@patricialynne07)

    September 19, 2012 at 6:19 pm

    Good luck with getting back to writing, but don’t beat yourself up too bad. There are times writing just has to take a back seat while you deal with life’s frustrations.

     
  3. Melinda

    September 19, 2012 at 10:54 pm

    It’s always hard to get started again after a break. Great work getting back to it!

     

Leave a Reply

 
