RSS

What I’m Working On: The Next Big Thing

18 Nov

Last week, my sister Eliza Fayle, the dynamo behind the aging-with-dignity-verve-and-excitement website Silver & Grace, tagged me in the NextBigThing meme that’s currently going around the internet.

This meme asks writers to talk about our current project(s) then to tag others and get them to talk about their work.

So, here goes…

What is the working title of your book(s)?

Touch – I know that there are a lot of other books out there with this title, but it’s the only one that resonates with me, so it’s more than a working title. It’s the official carved in stone title.

Here is the one-sentence blurb:

Stripped of her status for not possessing the right sort of healing touch, a young woman’s rage turns active rebellion when she discovers that her powers may have survived the attempt to take them away from her.

Where did the idea come from for the book(s)?

In the 80s, I loved the song I Touch Roses by the group Book of Love. One of my first attempts at writing a professional-level story in university had the same title and was about a girl who learned to heal people using the magic found in roses. The finished story never really satifisfied me, but the idea stayed in the back of my mind, waiting for a moment when I could bring it out again and apply it to something with a bit more grit to it.

Then in October 2011, the day after my wedding, my father suffered a swimming accident that left him paralyzed from the neck down. I was filled with rage, helplessness, grief and loss and I needed to put all of it on paper or it would explode within me.

The following month, I participated in NaNoWriMo and for the first time since joining the annual writing marathon, I won it. I wrote 50,000 words in a single month. Unfinished, I walked away from the novel, happy to have gotten the anger and impotency down on paper, but the emotions were still too strong for me to deal with objectively enough to turn it into a professional-level novel.

I’ve come back to it and walked away from it many times this past year, but am now finally reaching the end. It’s a lot less victim-ish than the original NaNoWriMo draft, but it has a lot more teeth than my university attempt.

Will your book(s) be self-published or represented by an agency?

However the book gets out into the world, there won’t be an agent involved. Having run my own business, I know enough to be my own agent. I don’t need to give away a percentage of my earnings to someone who doesn’t do anything different from what I can do.

I’ve self-published one novel and a short story already and have another project out making the traditional publishing rounds. What will happen with future projects, I don’t know. This book may end up indie or trad published, but first I have to finish it.

Once that happens, I’ll think about what to do with it.

And now to tag…

Anne Lyle is one of the up-and-coming writers at British publisher Angry Robot. Her debut novel, The Alchemist of Souls, is an alternative historical fantasy and the first of a trilogy. Anne is a meticulous writer, wanting to make sure she gets the details just right; even if she’s changing history, she wants us to see, smell, taste, hear and touch the altered Elizabethian world she’s created. I wouldn’t call Anne a Young Adult writer, but with one of the main characters in her late teens, anyone who enjoys YA and rich world-building will get a big kick of out her book (and the second and third parts of the trilogy when they come out).

Visit Anne’s site at http://www.annelyle.com

David Bridger writes romance, fantasy and science fiction. Several of his novels have been epublished, and recently he’s started his own publishing company. I’m not a big fan of sex scenes in what I read (hence my love of young adult), but in David’s romance-heavy work, the sex is never out of place or out of character. That, from my point of view, takes a lot of skill. So, although he’s not a YA writer either, I strongly recommented him.

Books by David Bridger:

  • Quarter Square
  • The Weaverfields Heir
  • Beauty and the Bastard

You can find out where to buy his books from his website http://www.davidbridger.com

Erin M. Hartshorn (aka Sara Penhollow, aka Doru Walker) lives words. Apart from writing fantasy, science fiction, cosy mysteries, and romance, Erin is also a copyeditor and proofreader. Erin is one of those authors whos stuff I buy without checking out excepts and I have yet to be even remotely disappointed. Through her own epublishing company, she has a variety of short stories, novellas and full novels available.

Stories by Erin:

  • (as Erin M. Hartshorn)
    • Dreampunk
    • Farwalker
    • “A New Start”
    • “Blood Brother”
    • “Ophid Dei”
    • “Rise of Kencha”
    • “Spiders”
    • “Winter White”
  • (as Sara Penhallow)
    • The Christmas Tree Farm Murders
  • (as Doru Walker)
    • “Reign of Lightning”
    • Redemption of Earth

You can see all available eformats available for the above stories on her website at http://www.erinmhartshorn.com

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 18, 2012 in General Babblery

 

Leave a Reply

 
