RSS

The Year Ahead

14 Jan

This year, 2013, is the year I launch my writing career.

Yes, I’ve published both a short story and a novel in ebook format, but that was nearly two years ago and I did nothing to follow them up.

This year, I’m going to release something every month. I will start developing a base of stories that will build year after year and form the foundation of the 20 year plan I created back in 2007.

What was that plan? Simple. By 2027, I want to support myself solely from my writing – my retirement savings as it were. I don’t have a high paying job with a pension. If I’m lucky, I’ll have worked enough here in Spain to receive the basic pension, but if I want to enjoy my retirement, I’m going to have to have an independent income.

And that’s where my writing comes in.

After five years of honing my craft and learning about the business, I am now ready to launch my career. In other words, I am right on track. Publishing, especially indie-publishing, is all about long-term thinking. To have a decent income, I need a lot of product selling a little bit every month.

So, this year, it’ll be 12 short stories plus a collection. Next year the same plus one or two novels. Repeat every year and in fifteen more years I’ll have at least 20 novels plus 15 short story collections and 180 short stories. With that sort of inventory, I’ll be earning a decent amount each month.

But that’s a long time away and things will more than likely change. I don’t need to think about it.

I only need to think about this year and the next step in my writing career, the launch of my own small press – Aia Publishing – and the creation of more stories.

So, watch this space for publishing announcements and more thoughts about my writing and the writing process.

Today’s post was inspired by the “projects” prompt in the Merry-Go-Round Blog Tour, an ongoing tour where you, the reader, travel around the world from author’s blog to author’s blog. We have all sorts of writers at all stages in their writing career, so there’s something for everyone to enjoy.

If you want to get to know nearly twenty other writers and find out what’s on their nightstand, check out the rest of the tour! Up next: Nancy Bridenthrall.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on January 14, 2013 in General Babblery, Indie Publishing

 

4 responses to “The Year Ahead

  1. Erin

    January 14, 2013 at 6:36 pm

    Excellent plan! Love the way you’ve got a road map but you’re only focused on what’s in front of you!

     
    • Alex

      January 15, 2013 at 6:19 am

      I have to keep my eyes on the road directly in front of me or I spin out. 😉

       
  2. OldWorldWriter

    January 19, 2013 at 1:49 am

    I saw your signature over on FM and then this post and was wondering… well, what it meant and how you did it. I’m looking to do the same thing so I was curious as to how you went about working your writing into a business by each year. I may be starting a small home business with my mother doing crafts but I also want to have time for my writing. Just curious as to how you went about it in hopes that I can learn to do the same.

     
    • Alex

      January 20, 2013 at 10:43 am

      Great question! One that probably needs more than a comment-response to explain properly.

      I’ll do a post this week with details.

       

Leave a Reply

 
